All Geek to Me

March 10, 2008

The Nature of My Game

Filed under: Geek Stuff — britinla @ 4:16 am

I have been thinking about Dungeons and Dragons in the last few days after the widely reported death of its co-creator. I have been happy memories of the games played and the time spent with friends; many of whom I met through the game. There is one Dungeons and Dragons story, though, that reinforces my feeling that the game is a positive social experience.

I worked for two and a half years as a teacher in an International School in Portugal. While I was there I started a Dungeons and Dragons club with several of the pupils. It ran at lunch and at weekends. When I left the school to return to the UK and take up a career in computers, the parents of one of the pupils in the club came and thanked me. They said that until he had joined the club he had never had friends over and had been miserable at school. Now he had several pupils who came over at weekends and was happier at school. This they blamed on me introducing him to the devil worship that is known as Dungeons and Dragons.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

