All Geek to Me

June 30, 2008

TVersity

Filed under: Geek Stuff — britinla @ 9:25 pm

I came across an interesting piece of free software recently. It is called TVersity. It is a media server, allowing other devices on the network to use video, audio, and pictures from your main PC. It is of interest to me as it is compatible with my DVR and so I can create a library of Doctor Who episodes on my PC and then watch them on the large screen TV attached to the DVR. I also see potential in showing people pictures we have taken without having them crowd round the PC. The image quality of the directly streamed video is not as good as burning the same video to DVD and allowing our upscaling player to play it, but the ease of having a whole season of Who to hand from the DVR menu is enticing. I am also experimenting with the settings to see if I can get can better quality.

Less useful is that it will stream video to my iPhone; I am not sure why I should want to watch Doctor Who on a phone sized screen instead of the 17” PC monitor or the 65” TV. It may be useful to show someone a photo from our collection and if we had a PC in our network DMZ, I could stream photos and videos to my phone wherever I was located.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

