All Geek to Me

May 11, 2009

Size Matters

Filed under: Geek Stuff — britinla @ 6:23 am

My wife was down in Southern California over the last weekend, to attend a funeral and to take her mother out for Brunch on Mother’s Day.  She rang to say that she had seen a great HP PC monitor in Best Buy and that I should go to our local store and see if they had the same deal. I drove the ten minutes to our nearest Best Buy. I did find the screen at first, but on asking in store I was shown that the HP screens were not in the same place as those by other manufacturers. The screen was indeed a great combination of quality display, size, and price. I took the last unit and for some odd reason the price rung up at the till was $30 less than the already good price on the sticker, so under $300 for a 24 inch Widescreen monitor with a 1920×1200 resolution . The screen will also rotate to portrait mode.

The only problem was that when I arrived home I realised that the only cable that came with the unit was a VGA cable. The graphics card on my PC has two DVI outputs. There were no DVI inputs on the new screen, so I could not use the cable from my old screen. I had to drive back to the store and buy a DVI to HDMI cable. The staff were actually helpful, suggesting that option over a VGA to DVI cable and showing me the near hidden cables that were half the price of their prominently displayed premium brands. Once that issue was resolved, I was able to connect it, reset my default resolution for Windows and I now have a lot more screen real estate.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

